Except for novice drivers and bus drivers, there is no prohibition on cell phone use while driving in Louisiana. However, all Louisiana drivers are prohibited from texting.
Cell Phone Use
There is no handheld cell phone prohibition for drivers except that school bus drivers and novice drivers in Louisiana -- drivers under the age of 18 -- or drivers with a learner’s permit, are prohibited from using cell phones (handheld or hands-free) while driving.
All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving.
School bus drivers are prohibited from using any cell phone (handheld or hands-free) and, as with all drivers, they are prohibited from texting while driving.
How is it Enforced?
Text messaging fines are up to $175 (first offense) and then $500. Louisiana’s text messaging and cell phone laws are considered “primary” laws. A primary law means that an officer can pull you over for the offense without having to witness some other violation. That is, the officer sees you texting and issues a citation.
- Act No. 665 Text Messaging and Cell Phone Law for Novice Drivers Source
- Act No. 666 Cellular Phone Law for Minors Source Document
- Act No. 667 Cellular Phone Law For First Time License Holders Source
- Act No. 355 Cellular Phone Law for School Bus Drivers