Maine Text Messaging and Cell Phone Laws
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
Except for novice drivers, there is no prohibition on cell phone use while driving in Maine. All Maine drivers are prohibited from texting while driving.
Cell Phone Use
There is no handheld cell phone prohibition for drivers in Maine.
Novice drivers in Maine - drivers with learner’s permits or provisional/intermediate licenses – are prohibited from using a cellphone (handheld or hands-free) while driving.
All Maine drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. The fine for a first offense is $100 and there are increased fines for subsequent offenses.
Bus drivers are prohibited from texting while driving.
How is it Enforced?
The fine for a first offense of texting while driving is $100 and there are increased fines for subsequent offenses.Maine’s novice cell phone and texting laws are considered “primary” laws. A primary law means that an officer can pull you over for the offense without having to witness some other violation. That is, the officer sees you texting and issues a citation. Maine also has a “distracted driving law,” officially known as the "An Act To Establish a Distracted Driver Law." According to this law, a driver fails to maintain control of a vehicle if she is engaging in activities that are not necessary to the operation of the vehicle, or activities that impair the ability of the person to safely operate the vehicle. The new law defines "Failure To Maintain Control of A Motor Vehicle" as committing a traffic violation or being involved in a "reportable" accident while engaged in the operation of a motor vehicle while distracted.
Additional Maine Information
Follow the links below to get additional information regarding driving laws in Maine.