Mississippi Text Messaging and Cell Phone Laws
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
Except for school bus drivers, there is no prohibition on cell phone use while driving in Mississippi. Novice drivers are prohibited from texting while driving.
Cell Phone Use
Except for school bus drivers, all Mississippi drivers can use cell phones.
Only novice drivers – drivers with an intermediate license, a temporary learning permit or a temporary driving permit – are prohibited form texting while driving.
All Mississippi school bus drivers are prohibited from using cell phones or texting while transporting a minor.
How is it Enforced?
Violators of Mississippi’s novice texting laws can incur fines up to $500; or, if an accident results, $1,000. Mississippi’s novice texting laws are considered “primary” laws. A primary law means that an officer can pull a novice over for the offense without having to witness some other violation. That is, the officer sees a novice driver texting and issues a citation.
Review Mississippi’s teen texting law.