Nevada Text Messaging and Cell Phone Laws
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
Nevada Law Banning Texting and Hand-Held Cell Phones Enacted
The Nevada legislature passed a bill that would prohibit all drivers from texting or using a hand-held cell phone while driving. The legislation, Senate Bill (SB) 140, was subsequently signed by the governor and enacted in 2012.
Nevada law now prohibits drivers from using a cell phone or other wireless communications device to access or search the Internet, or to type, enter, send, or read any non-voice communication, including text messages, instant messages (IM), or email. Global positioning systems (GPS) are not covered by the law. The ban doesn't apply to emergency personnel, licensed amateur radio operators who are communicating certain public information, employees of public utilities who are responding to emergencies, or drivers who are reporting emergencies or responding to dangerous situations.
Violation of the law is punishable by a fine of up to $50 for a first offense; $100 for a second offense within seven years; and $250 for a third offense within seven years. Higher fines are imposed on drivers who violate the law in traffic control zones.
Nevada law prohibits using cell phones or other wireless communications devices to make or receive phone calls, unless hands-free equipment is used. The same penalties as for texting, above, apply for violation of this provision of the law.