New York Text Messaging and Cell Phone Laws
Handheld cell phone use and texting is prohibited for all New York drivers. All cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) is prohibited for New York City taxi drivers and for novice drivers.
Cell Phone Use
A driver in New York who uses a cell phone while driving (except to call 911 or to report medical, police or fire emergencies) can receive a traffic ticket and a maximum fine of $100 and mandatory surcharges and fees of up to $85. The violation also adds three points to the driver's license. In other words,
A driver in New York who uses a cell phone to send text messages while driving in New York can be fined up to $150 plus mandatory surcharges and fees of up to $85. This violation also carries three driver violation points.In other words, all New York drivers are prohibited from texting.
All New York bus drivers are prohibited from using handheld cell phones and from texting.
How is it Enforced?
The updated New York driving law imposes a fine of $150 for an offense and three points on the driver’s record.
New York’s handheld cell phone and texting laws are considered “primary” laws, as is the prohibition on all cell phones for bus drivers. A primary law means that an officer can pull you over for the offense without having to witness some other violation. That is, the officer sees you texting and issues a citation.
Other State of New York Information
Follow the links below to get additional information regarding driving laws in New York.