You can expect some serious penalties for your third DUI in Arizona, especially if it occurs not too long after your prior offenses. In fact, a DUI less than 7 years after your prior conviction is considered a felony in this state. You will need a lawyer to have any chance of reducing your sentence. Consider what you can expect before deciding for sure whether you want an attorney.
Your license will be suspended for 1 year if this is your third DUI in total, but it will be suspended for 3 years if this is your 3rd conviction within 7 years. This is because the latter is considered aggravated DUI, and thus carries harsher penalties. You will also need to put an ignition interlock device in your car once you are allowed to drive again, and will also need to show proof of SR22 insurance for this state.
The majority of DUIs require alcohol treatment, and a third DUI in Arizona is no exception. Additionally, you can expect to perform community service.
Prison time is a requirement for this kind of crime, as you will spend at least 4 months imprisoned after a third DUI in Arizona. During this time, you will not be eligible for probation or any sort of release, as you have to complete the entire 4 months in prison. However, you might spend more time imprisoned, depending on your case, though 2 years is the maximum penalty.
The fines for a third DUI in Arizona are much higher than for prior convictions, as they can go up to $150,000. Even if you are not forced to pay the maximum amount, you should expect to pay at least $4000. As if these upfront costs were not enough, the court may take your car while you are in prison. An attorney may be able to prevent some of the maximum penalties from being imposed, but you can expect to suffer at least the minimum consequences.
Get a Lawyer's Help
Unfortunately, it is not possible to plea bargain a third DUI in Arizona down to a wet reckless charge, which is an alcohol-involved reckless driving charge that carries lesser penalties. However, your lawyer can decide whether it is best for you to plead guilty or not guilty, depending on the evidence against you. Going it alone, without a lawyer, is not recommended when dealing with felony charges stemming from your third DUI in Arizona, so find a legal representative today.