Operating a motor vehicle in the state of Minnesota with a blood alcohol content of approximately .08% or higher is considered by state law to be driving while impaired or intoxicated. If you have been charged with a third DWI offense in Minnesota, and your first offense was less than years earlier, you face the following criminal and administrative penalties.
A third offense DWI in Minnesota is a gross misdemeanor and you may face:
- Up to 1 year in jail
- A fine of $3000
- Forfeiture of vehicle
- Jail detention until the first court appearance
- Completion of an alcohol treatment program
- Electronic home monitoring
Depending on the charges, a third offense DWI in Minnesota can be considered a felony, with three or more years of prison time and a fine of up to $14,000. Be aware that your automobile insurance policy rates can go up after receiving a third DWI offense. You may even lose your auto insurance.
The administrative penalties for a third DUI in Minnesota include:
- Drivers license suspension of up to six months
- Limited driver’s license
- License plate impoundment
Plea Options in Minnesota
Plea bargaining is an option in Minnesota. If you plead guilty to a lesser charge, you may be granted a reduced charge or sentence in your DWI case.
All Motor Vehicles Included
Be advised that third offense DWIs can be issued for any of the following vehicles regardless of whether they require a license.
- All-terrain vehicles
- Golf carts
- Riding lawn mowers
- Any vehicle not meant for street use