Ignition Interlock Devices in California

When is an IID Authorized?

California has legislated the use of ignition interlock devices (IIDs) for certain drivers convicted of alcohol related driving offenses.

When are IIDs Required?

California courts are required to order the installation and maintenance of an IID as a condition of reinstatement of driving privileges when:

  • a person is convicted of driving with a suspended or revoked license for a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction
  • one DUI offense (misdemeanor) within 10 years requires five months of IID; one DUI (felony) within 10 years requires 12 months of IID.
  • two DUI offenses (misdemeanor) within 10 years requires 12 months of IID; two DUIs (felony) within 10 years requires 24 months of IID.
  • three DUI offenses (misdemeanor) within 10 years requires 24 months of IID; three DUIs (felony) within 10 years requires 36 months of IID.
  • Four or more DUI offenses (misdemeanor) within 10 years requires 36 months of IID; four or more DUIs (felony) within 10 years requires 48 months of IID.

Additionally, courts in various counties may establish their own discretionary standards for first DUIs.

What’s an IID?

An IID connects to the vehicle dashboard and the driver breaths into the device prior to starting the vehicle. If the IID detects a BAC above the limit programmed the device (typically calibrated at .02%), then the engine won’t start. Read more about ignition interlock devices (IIDs).

Where Can I Find an IID Provider?

IID providers are approved for installation throughout California. You can find a list of approved IID providers at the California DMV website.

Who Pays For it?

In almost all cases the driver who has been convicted of a DUI/DWI pays for the installation and lease of the ignition interlock system. You can expect to pay up to $100 for installation (although some companies offer free installation) and between $75-$120 per month for the lease. This is a rough estimate and your price may be higher or lower depending on your location.

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys