Ignition Interlock Devices in Connecticut

When is an IID Authorized?

Approximately 3,000 Connecticut drivers use ignition interlock devices (IIDs), a result of a change in Connecticut’s DUI law in 2012. Now, first-time offenders are required to install IIDs, as well.

When are IIDs Required?

Connecticut courts are permitted to order the installation and maintenance of an IID as a condition of reinstatement of driving privileges for:

  • A first DUI offense, the driver must operate the vehicle for one year with an IID.
  • A second DUI offense within 10 years, the driver must use an IID for three years.

If a driver using an IID commits any of the following violations, thirty (30) days, per violation, will be added to the length of time the IID restriction will be required:

  • Failing to appear for IID service within five days of your scheduled service date;
  • Second or subsequent occasion of failing a rolling retest;
  • Failing to submit to a rolling retest;
  • Tampering with OR attempting to tamper with OR circumventing OR attempting to circumvent the IID;
  • Operating a vehicle without the required IID;
  • Removing an IID without authorization from the DMV;
  • Requesting or soliciting another person to blow into or otherwise activate the device for the purpose of providing the restricted driver with an operable motor vehicle.

What’s an IID?

An IID connects to the vehicle dashboard and the driver breaths into the device prior to starting the vehicle. If the IID detects a BAC above the limit programmed the device (typically calibrated at .02%), then the engine won’t start. Read more about ignition interlock devices (IIDs).

Where Can I Find an IID Provider?

IID providers are approved for installation throughout Connecticut. You can find a list of approved IID providers at the Connecticut DMV website.

Who Pays For it?

In almost all cases the driver who has been convicted of a DUI/DWI pays for the installation and lease of the ignition interlock system. You can expect to pay up to $100 for installation (although some companies offer free installation) and between $75-$120 per month for the lease. This is a rough estimate and your price may be higher or lower depending on your location.

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLODRUPAL-web3:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205