Ignition Interlock Devices in Illinois

When is an IID Authorized?

Illinois has authorized the use of ignition interlock devices (referred to as BAIIDs in Illinois) for certain drivers convicted of alcohol related driving offenses.

When are IIDs USED?

All DUI offenders will be automatically issued an ignition interlock device as a condition of reinstatement. They may decline the device but face increased penalties. 

 What’s an IID?

An IID connects to the vehicle dashboard and the driver breaths into the device prior to starting the vehicle. If the IID detects a BAC above the limit programmed the device (typically calibrated at .02%), then the engine won’t start. Read more about ignition interlock devices (IIDs).

Where Can I Find an IID Provider?

IID providers are approved for installation throughout Illinois. You can find a list of approved IID providers at the Illinois DMV website.

Who Pays For it?

In almost all cases the driver who has been convicted of a DUI/DWI pays for the installation and lease of the ignition interlock system. You can expect to pay up to $100 for installation (although some companies offer free installation) and between $75-$120 per month for the lease. This is a rough estimate and your price may be higher or lower depending on your location.

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLODRUPAL-web2:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205