The Driver's License Point System in Alaska

How Many Points Before Your License is Suspended?

Alaska uses a point system aimed at reducing motor vehicle accidents. Under that system convictions for moving traffic violations are assigned numeric point values ranging from 2 points to 10 points. Violations with the highest likelihood of contributing to crashes are assigned the higher point values. Each point serves as a demerit, and the more you get, the more likely it is that you will have your license suspended or even revoked for good. Although these infractions are reported to your insurer, the accrued points may not have much significance because, when deciding on rate increases, most insurers apply their own point system. If you are convicted of, or forfeit bail for, a moving traffic violation occurring in this, or any other State, points will be entered on your Alaska driving record.

Penalties and Suspensions

Penalties based on the point system are as follows:

  • Accumulating 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months – mandatory suspension or revocation of the driving privilege, regardless of the hardships involved.
  • No limited “work purpose” license is available should a suspension or revocation of the driving privilege be required.
  • Traffic law violators are sent a warning letter upon reaching the half way mark towards a point suspension Violators are advised to take steps to correct their poor-driving behavior.
  • A provisional license holder who accumulates 6 or more points in a 12-month period or 9 or more points in a 24-month period must complete a driver improvement course approved by the Division.
  • Repeated traffic law violations may require a personal interview with a Motor Vehicle Hearing Officer.

How Many Points for Each Infraction?

Assigned points are based on the following schedule:

Type of Violation

Points

Operating a motor vehicle while privilege to do so is suspended or revoked or in violation of limited license

10

Driving while intoxicated / under the influence

10

Reckless driving

 10

Refusal to provide a breath sample

10

Fleeing or attempting to elude a Police Officer

10

Speed contest Racing

 10

Negligent Homicide with a Motor Vehicle

10

Manslaughter with a Motor Vehicle

10

Assault with a Motor Vehicle

10

Leaving the scene of a crash 

9

Negligent driving 

6

Failure to yield to authorized emergency vehicle

  6

Failure to stop for school bus while bus is loading or unloading

 6

Failure to obey official traffic control devices in school zone, playground, crosswalk, or park

6

Driving without insurance 

6

Careless driving types of behavior

 4

Following too close

4

Failure to stop or yield

4

Minor operating after consuming

6

Illegal passing in a Traffic Safety Corridor

 4

All other moving violations

 2

Violation of oversize or overweight permits pertaining to restriction on hours of operation

  3

Speeding

 

In school zone or playground crosswalk

 6

3 to 9 mph over limit

2

10 to 19 mph over limit

 4

20 mph or more over limit

 6

Violation of oversize or overweight permits pertaining to restriction of speed

 

3 to 9 mph over limit

2

10 to 19 mph over limit

4

20 mph or more over limit

6

 Getting Rid of Points

In Alaska, credits may be earned for violation-free driving and/or completion of a defensive driver course (DDC) A DDC may be taken once every 12 months for a point reduction.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLODRUPAL-web2:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205