The Driver's License Point System in Idaho

How Many Points Before Your License is Suspended?

The Idaho Transportation Department's Driver Services Section tracks moving violations that occur both in the state of Idaho and in other states plus Canada. Each minor moving violation receives a point system value from one to four points, depending on the seriousness of the violation. Although these infractions are reported to your insurer, the accrued points may not have much significance because, when deciding on rate increases, most insurers apply their own point system.

Suspensions

The Idaho Transportation Department may suspend a driver's license based on the following schedule.

Number of Points

Penalty

12 to 17 (in any 12 months)

30-Day Suspension

18 to 23 (in any 24 months)

90-Day Suspension

24 or more (in any 36 months)

6-Month Suspension

How Many Points for Each Infraction?

Violation Description

Points

Starting parked vehicle

2

Limitation on backing

1

Driving upon sidewalk

3

Coasting prohibited

2

Obstruction to driver’s view or driving mechanism

3

Stopping when traffic obstructed

1

Drivers to exercise due care

3

Driving through safety zone prohibited

2

Slow moving vehicles

2

Authorized emergency or police vehicles

3

Duty upon approaching stationary police vehicle or emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights

3

Operation of vehicles on approach of authorized emergency police vehicle

3

Following fire apparatus prohibited

3

Crossing fire hose

1

Drive on right side of roadway – exceptions

3

Passing vehicles proceeding in opposite direction

2

Overtaking a vehicle on left

3

When passing on right is permitted

2

Limitations on overtaking on the left

3

Further limitation on driving on left of center of highway

3

One-way highways

1

Driving on highways laned for traffic

1

Following too closely

3

Turning out of slow moving vehicles

2

Vehicle approaching or entering unmarked or uncontrolled intersection

3

Vehicle turning left

3

Vehicle entering highway

3

Highway construction and maintenance

3

Required position and method of turning

3

Limitation on turning around

3

Obedience to signal indicating approach of train

4

Compliance with stopping requirements at all railroad grade crossings

4

Moving heavy equipment at Railroad grade crossings

3

Emerging from alley, driveway, or building

3

Basic rule and maximum speed limits/ CMV failure to slow down at railroad grade crossing

3-4*

Minimum speed regulations

3

Special speed limitations

3-4*

Work zone speed limit

3

School zone speed limit

3

Restricted use of neighborhood electric vehicles on highway

2

Safety restraint use

Exempt

Pedestrian’s right-of-way in crosswalk

3

Blind and/or hearing impaired pedestrian has right-of-way

3

Pedestrian’s right-of-way on sidewalks

3

Obedience to and required traffic control devices

3

Traffic control signal legend

3

Flashing signals

3

Lane use control signals

3

Stop signs

3

Failure to yield – signed intersections

3

Turning movement and required signals

3

Duty to give information in accident involving damage to a vehicle

4

Duty upon striking unattended vehicle

4

Duty upon striking fixtures upon or adjacent to a highway

4

Inattentive driving

3

Texting while driving

Exempt

Obedience to traffic direction

2

Driving on divided highways

1

Restricted access

1

Overtaking and passing school bus

4

Racing on public highways

4

Getting Rid of Points

Points remain on a driver's record for three years after the conviction date. Once every three years drivers may reduce their point total by three points if they complete an approved defensive driving course (DDC). The course must be taken before a suspension for accumulation of points takes place. Also, (3) once every three years drivers may reduce their total point accumulation by completing a city sponsored Traffic Safety Education Course (TSC). This course must be offered to and accepted by the driver at roadside at the time of citation. Upon completion of the course it will remove the number of points associated with the citation from the driver’s record. Not all cities will opt to have such a program and, for those that do, the course is offered at the discretion of the law enforcement officer at the time of the stop. A driver is only allowed one point reduction on their driving record within a 3-year period regardless of what type of course is completed. 

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLO-web3:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205