The Driver's License Point System in Missouri

How Many Points Before Your License is Suspended?

Missouri uses a point system to track drivers. After accumulating four points, a driver will receive an advisory letter. License suspensions begin once you have accumulated 8 or more points in 18 months. Although these infractions are reported to your insurer, the accrued points may not have much significance because, when deciding on rate increases, most insurers apply their own point system.

Suspensions

If you accumulate a total of 8 or more points in 18 months, you license will be suspended for 30 days (1st suspension), 60 days (2d suspension), 90 days (3rd or more suspensions).  You will lose driving privileges for one year if you receive

  • 12 or more points in 12 months
  • 18 or more points in 24 months
  • 24 or more points in 36 months

When your driving privilege is reinstated following a Point Suspension or Revocation, the Missouri Department of Revenue reduces your total points to 4.

How Many Points for Each Infraction?

Offense

Points

Careless and Imprudent

4

State Law Section 304.016.4 RSMo

4

Driving While Intoxicated (1st Offense)

8

Subsequent offenses, or first offense following previous alcohol/drug related offense

12

Driving Under Influence of Drugs (1st Offense) – State Law, County or Municipal Ordinance Violation

8

Subsequent offenses, or first offense following previous alcohol/drug related offense

12

Driving While Under Suspension or Revocation or Denial “Drive while SUS/REV/DEN”

12

Excess Blood Alcohol Content – 1st Violation of State Law, County or Municipal Ordinance

8

Subsequent violation of State Law, County or Municipal Ordinance or first violation following previous alcohol/drug related offense

12

Driv. Under Influence BAC .04

2

Felony – Drug Transport/MFG

0

Felony Involving Motor Vehicle

12

Leaving Scene of Accident – State Law Violation

12

County or Municipal Ordinance Violation

6

Obtained License by Misrepresentation

12

Permit Unlic. Driver to Drive

12

Speeding – State Law Violation

3

County or Municipal Ordinance Violation

2

Excessive Speeding – State Law Violation

3

Excessive Speed-Non-Assess, State Law Violation, Section 304.009

0

County or Municipal Ordinance Violation

2

Stop Sign or Stop Signal – State Law or County Ordinance Violation

2

Municipal Ordinance Violation when an accident was involved

2

Municipal Ordinance Violation when no accident involved

1

Vehicular Injury

12

Vehicular Manslaughter - State Law, County or Municipal Ordinance Violation

12

The following violation descriptions (as they will appear on the driver record) are assessed two (2) points whether a state, county or municipal violation.

  • Disobeyed Traffic Officer
  • Driving Across Fire Hose
  • Drive Motorcycle between Vehicles Driving Wrong Side of Road
  • Driving Over Curb * Driving Over Sidewalk
  • Drive Too Fast for Conditions
  • Drive Under Minimum Speed Limit
  • Following too Close
  • Impeding Traffic Movement Improper Backing
  • Improper CDL Class
  • Improper Emerging from Drive Improper Lane
  • Improper Passing
  • Improper Start From Parked Pos. Improper Turn
  • Inattentive Driving
  • Increased Speed When Passed Interfere with Officer/Traffic Sys Misc.-Convert from Prior System (Miscellaneous Conviction)
  • No Commercial Driver License

Getting Rid of Points

Every year you drive without getting new points on your record, the points will be reduced as follows: 1 year — total remaining points reduced by one-third, 2 years — remaining points reduced by one-half, 3 years — points reduced to zero

Although your points may be reduced to zero, certain types of convictions must remain listed permanently on your Missouri driver record.

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLODRUPAL-web1:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205