The Driver's License Point System in North Dakota

How Many Points Before Your License is Suspended?

Under North Dakota's point system, each point serves as a demerit, and once you exceed 11 points, you will have your license suspended. Although these infractions are reported to your insurer, the accrued points may not have much significance because, when deciding on rate increases, most insurers apply their own point system.

Suspensions

Driving license or privileges are suspended after accumulating twelve (12) points. For each point above 11 points, the license is suspended for seven days – for example, a drive who had 14 points would be suspended for 21 days. For drivers under the age of 18, driving license or privileges will be canceled upon an accumulation of six (6) or more points.

How Many Points for Each Infraction?

Speed Zones Less Than 70 mph

Speed (mph)

Points

1 - 5 mph over limit

0

6 - 10 mph over limit

0

 

11 - 15 mph over limit

1

 

16 - 20 mph over limit

3

 

21 - 25 mph over limit

5

 

26 - 35 mph over limit

9

 

36 - 45 mph over limit

12

 

46 mph plus over limit

15

 

Speed Zones 70 mph or Greater

 

Speed (mph)

Points

 

1 - 5 mph over limit

0

 

6 - 10 mph over limit

1

 

11 - 15 mph over limit

3

 

16 - 20 mph over limit

5

 

21 - 25 mph over limit

7

 

26 - 30 mph over limit

10

 

31 - 35 mph over limit

12

 

36 mph plus over limit

15

 

Overtaking where prohibited or unlawful.

2

 

Driving on wrong side of road

2

 

Failing to yield right-of-way

2

 

Failing to use care required

2

 

Disobeying traffic control signals

2

 

Failing to yield-right-of-way to funeral procession

2

 

Knowingly driving illegally modified vehicle

2

 

Open container (Driver)

2

 

Exhibition driving

3

 

Violating corrective lens restriction

3

 

Failing to stop at RR crossing

3

 

Violating or exceeding restriction contained in a restricted certificate or license or Instructional Permit

4

 

Clinging to other vehicle while riding a motorcycle

4

 

Operating a motor vehicle without a license

4

 

Overtaking a school bus

6

 

Failing to give immediate notice of accident

6

 

Careless driving (Basic Rule)

6

 

No liability insurance

6, 12, or 14

 

Reckless driving

8

 

Racing in a motor vehicle

10

 

Aggravated reckless driving

12

 

Leaving the scene of accident involving property damage

14

 

Leaving the scene of accident involving injury or death

18

 

Fleeing from law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle

24

 

Getting Rid of Points

Drivers can attend an approved defensive driving course which will reduce three points from their driving record.  This three-point reduction can only be used once every 12-month period.  Proof of course completion must be mailed to the North Dakota Department of Transportation Drivers License Division.

Drivers issued a citation with a penalty of five points or less can attend an approved defensive driving course in lieu of entry of points on the operator’s driving record.  The operator must notify the court at the time they post their bond and provide proof of course completion to DOT within 30 days.

 

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLODRUPAL-web2:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205