The Driver's License Point System in Ohio

How Many Points Before Your License is Suspended?

The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), uses a point system to penalize high risk drivers. Under that system each point serves as a demerit, and the more you get, the more likely it is that you will have your license suspended or even revoked for good. Although these infractions are reported to your insurer, the accrued points may not have much significance because, when deciding on rate increases, most insurers apply their own point system.

Suspensions

If you receive 12 points or more on your driving record within a two-year period, your license will be suspended.

How Many Points for Each Infraction?

Six-point violations

Homicide by vehicle

Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or any drug of abuse

Failure to stop and disclose identity at the scene of a crash

Willingly fleeing or eluding a law enforcement officer

Drag racing

Operating a motor vehicle without the consent of the owner

Operating a motor vehicle while your license is under suspension or revocation

Using a motor vehicle in the commission of a felony, or committing any crime punishable as a felony under Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws

Four-point violations

Willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property

Two-point violations

All moving violations except those pertaining to size limits and some speed offenses

Operating a motor vehicle in violation of a restriction imposed by the Registrar of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Speeding violations

Exceeding a speed limit by 30 mph or more results in four points.

If the speed limit is 55 mph or more, exceeding the limit by more than 10 mph (11–29 mph over the limit) results in two points.

If the speed limit is less than 55 mph, exceeding the limit by more than 5 mph (6–29 mph over the limit) results in two points.

Exceeding any speed limit in an amount less than what is stated above results in no points.

Getting Rid of Points

A driver who accumulates more than five but no more than 11 points for traffic violations is eligible for a one-time, two- point credit by completing an approved remedial driving course.

 

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLODRUPAL-web3:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205