Disabled Parking Permits in Arkansas
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as “handicapped stickers”) in Arkansas, your doctor must complete a Licensed Physician's Certification Form 10-366 certifying permanent disability. Your social security number, driver license number or state issued identification card will be required at the time of application. State and federal laws require the department to hold social security numbers and medical conditions in confidence. Original issuance, replacement and transfers can be done in any state revenue office.
Arkansas recognizes a wide range of disabilities for example if the applicant
- Cannot walk one hundred (100) feet without stopping to rest;
- Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device;
- Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person’s forced respiratory expiratory volume for one (1) second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one (1) liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty (60) mm/hg on room air at rest;
- Uses portable oxygen;
- Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association;
- Spinal cord injury;
- Genetic ambulatory disorder;
- An amputation;
- Spina bifida;
- Multiple Sclerosis;
- Chronic heart disease; or
- Any other disability as recognized by a licensed physician.
You can download Arkansas’s application for disability parking privileges.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Arkansas issues three types of disability access parking privileges:
- DISABILITY ACCESS LICENSE PLATE(S) (to include disability access military and motorcycle plates) are issued only for vehicles owned by persons with a disability as described above; and (b) organizations that transport persons with a disability. These plates are valid for three years.
- DISABILITY ACCESS PLACARD(S) are issued only to persons with a disability, as described above, who have a long-term limitation or impairment in their ability to walk. These placards are valid for three years.
- TEMPORARY DISABILITY ACCESS PLACARD(S) are issued only to persons with a disability, as described below, who have a temporary limitation or impairment in their ability to walk (not to exceed three months).
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Any unauthorized vehicle found to be parked in an area designated for the exclusive use of a person with a disability shall be subject to impoundment by the appropriate law enforcement agency. In addition to impoundment, the owner of the vehicle shall upon conviction be subject to fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500) for the first offense, nor less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) nor more one thousand dollars ($1000) for the second and subsequent offense, plus applicable towing, impoundment, and related fees as well as court costs. Upon the second or subsequent conviction, the court shall suspend the driver’s license for up to six (6) months. The driver may apply to the Office of Driver Services of the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration for a restricted license during the period of suspension.