Disabled Parking Permits in Delaware
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as “handicapped stickers”) in Delaware an applicant must meet one of the following requirements:
- Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest; or
- Cannot walk safely without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistive device; or
- Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the applicant's or household member's forced (respiratory) expiratory volume, one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty mm/hg. at room air or rest; or
- Uses portable oxygen; or
- Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the applicant's or household member's functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to the standards set by the American Heart Association; or
- Is severely limited in his or her ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition.
Applicants 85 years of age and older need only show proof of their age to obtain a placard.
A person with a permanent disability does not need to obtain a new physician's certification in order to have his or her special license plate or parking ID placard renewed. The individual with a disability shall be required to submit a written certification that he or she continues to suffer from the disability, and that he or she continues to require the special license plate or parking ID placard for the reasons stated when it was initially issued.
You can seek either plates or a placard by sending in Delaware’s application for disability parking identification. You may also apply at your local DMV.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
- Disabled Placards and Plates. Disabled placards are only valid for three (3) years.
- Temporary Placards . Eligibility, by law, for a temporary special parking ID placard is restricted to a physical disability that is not permanent, but that substantially limits or impairs the applicant’s or household member’s ability to walk for not less than five (5) weeks, and which is so severe that the person would endure a hardship or be subject to a risk of injury without a temporary special ID placard. These are valid for a minimum of 35 and maximum of 90 days.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
A person who parks illegally in a handicapped space faces a fine of $100 for a first violation and $200 for second and subsequent violations.
Out of state
Delaware recognizes out-of-state disability permits. However, not all states may recognize Delaware disability permits.