Disabled Parking Permits in Georgia
How to obtain plates and placards
Effective in 2006, the Georgia Department of Revenue assumed responsibility for the issuing and renewal of disabled persons parking placards (hang tags) within Georgia. Placards are available throughout the state at local county tag offices. You will need to complete a MV-9D application available on the Department of Revenue website. To qualify for disability parking plates or placards (sometimes incorrectly referred to as “handicapped stickers” or “handicapped hangtags”) in Georgia the applicant must meet one of the following requirements:
- Unable to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest,
- Unable to walk without the use of a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, etc.
- Restricted by lung disease,
- Use of portable oxygen needed,
- Restricted by a cardiac condition,
- Restricted by arthritic, neurological, orthopedic condition,
- An impaired hearing.
You can seek either plates or a placard by completing and delivering Georgia’s application for disability parking identification. A doctor's certification is required.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards in Georgia
Disabled drivers in Georgia are entitled to either a permanent placards or a temporary placard.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Any person that is not disabled who intentionally and falsely represents itself in order to get such a permit is liable for a fine of not less than $100 but not more than $500 dollars and the vehicle may be towed away. Any person that parks in the parking space designated for persons with disabilities when not entitled to it is guilty of a misdemeanor and the vehicle may be towed away.