How to Get a Handicapped Parking Permit in Kansas
Learn how to obtain disabled plates and placards in Kansas.
To qualify for disability parking plates or placards (sometimes incorrectly referred to as “handicapped stickers” or “handicapped hangtags”) in Kansas an applicant must meet one of the following requirements:
- has a severe visual impairment;
- cannot walk 100 feet without stopping to rest;
- cannot walk without the use of or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistive device;
- is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person's forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
- uses portable oxygen;
- has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the American heart association; or
- is severely limited in such person's ability to walk at least 100 feet due to an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition.
You can seek either plates or a placard by completing and sending in Kansas’s application for disability parking identification. You may also apply at your county treasurer’s local DMV.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
- Disabled Placards and Plates. Disabled plates and placards are valid for a maximum of three years.
- Temporary Placards . Temporary placards are valid for a maximum of six months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Parking fines for abusing disabled parking spaces is determined by each local jurisdiction and typically ranges from $100 to $300.