Disabled Parking Permits in Kentucky
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for disability parking plates or placards (sometimes incorrectly referred to as “handicapped stickers” or “handicapped hangtags”) in Kentucky an applicant must meet one of the following requirements:
- Cannot walk two hundred (200) feet or sixty-one (61) meters without stopping to rest;
- Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistant device;
- Are restricted by lung disease to the extent that the person's forced respiratory and expiratory volume for one (1) second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one (1) liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty (60) mm/hg on room air at rest;
- Use portable oxygen;
- Have a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association; or
- Are severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
You can seek either plates or a placard by completing and sending in Kentucky’s application for disability parking identification. You may also apply at your local DMV.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
- Disabled Placards and Plates. Disabled plates and placards are valid for a maximum of two years.
- Temporary Placards . Temporary placards are valid for a maximum of six months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Parking fines for abusing disabled parking spaces is determined by each local jurisdiction and typically ranges from $100 to $200.
Out of state
Kentucky recognizes out-of-state disability permits. However, not all states may recognize Kentucky disability permits.