How to Get a Handicapped Parking Permit in Minnesota
Learn how to obtain disabled plates and placards in Minnesota.
To qualify for disability parking plates or placards (sometimes incorrectly referred to as “handicapped stickers”) in Minnesota, the applicant must be certified as having a disability by a licensed physician. Minnesota law defines “physical disability” as:
- Has a cardiac condition to the extent that functional limitations are classified in severity according to the standards set by the American Heart Association.
- Uses portable oxygen.
- Is restricted by a respiratory disease.
- Has an artificial oxygen tension (PAO2) of less than 60 mm/Hg on room air at rest.
- Has lost an arm or a leg and does not have or cannot use an artificial limb.
- Cannot walk without the aid of another person or device, e.g., wheelchair or cane.
- Walking 200 feet would be life threatening.
- Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest.
- Cannot walk without a significant risk of falling.
You can seek either plates or a placard by completing Minnesota’s application for disability parking identification, along with the medical certification, and submitting it to Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Services Division, 445 Minnesota Street, St. Paul, MN 55101-5164.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Minnesota issues three types of certification:
- Temporary certificate – for one to six months
- Short-term certificate – for seven to 12 months
- Long-term certificate – for 13 to 71 months (six years). The disability must be re-certified before a new or subsequent parking certificate will be issued. Persons with a permanent disability are issued a Six-Year Certificate.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
The fine for abusing handicapped parking in Minnesota is not less than $100 and not more than $200 in Minnesota.
Out of state
Minnesota recognizes out-of-state disability permits. However, not all states may recognize Minnesota disability permits.