Disabled Parking Permits in Mississippi
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for disability parking plates or placards (sometimes incorrectly referred to as “handicapped stickers”) in Mississippi, the applicant must be characterized as having a disability by a licensed physician. Mississippi law defines “physical disability” as:
- cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
- cannot walk without the use of an assistive device;
- is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person's forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
- uses portable oxygen;
- has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the American heart association; or
- is severely limited in such person's ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition.
You can seek either plates or a placard by completing Mississippi’s application for disability parking identification and submitting it to your County tax Collector.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Once an application is processed the permit is mailed to the applicant that is either:
- Permanent Permit – issued for five years to persons with a handicap or disability determined by their medical professional to be a permanent medical condition.
- Temporary Permit – issued to persons with a handicap or disability expected by their medical professional to limit their mobility no longer than six (6) months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
The fine for first and second offenses of abusing handicapped parking is not less than $200 in Mississippi. A third offense may result in license suspension.
Out of state
Mississippi recognizes out-of-state disability permits. However, not all states may recognize Mississippi disability permits.