Disabled Parking Permits in Missouri
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for disability parking plates or placards (sometimes incorrectly referred to as “handicapped stickers”) in Missouri, the applicant must be certified as having a disability by a licensed physician. Missouri law (301.142.1 R.S.Mo.) defines “physical disability” as:
- The person cannot ambulate or walk 50 feet without stopping to rest due to a severe and disabling arthritic, neurological, orthopedic condition, or other severe and disabling condition.
- The person cannot ambulate or walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device.
- The person is restricted by a respiratory or other disease to such an extent that the person’s forced respiratory expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest.
- The person uses portable oxygen.
- The person has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to the standards set by the American Heart Association.
- The person is blind as defined by Missouri law Section 8.700, RSMo.
You can seek either plates or a placard by sending in Missouri’s application for disability parking identification. Note, Missouri requires a separate certification from your physician.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Missouri offers tow permits:
- Permanent Permit – issued to persons with a handicap or disability determined by their medical professional to be a permanent medical condition.
- Temporary Permit – issued to persons with a handicap or disability expected by their medical professional to limit their mobility no longer than six (6) months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
The fine for abusing handicapped parking is not less than $50 or more than $200 in Missouri.
Out of state
Missouri recognizes out-of-state disability permits. However, not all states may recognize Missouri disability permits.