Disabled Parking Permits in Nebraska
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for disability parking plates or placards (sometimes incorrectly referred to as “handicapped stickers”) in Nebraska, the applicant must be characterized as having a disability by a licensed physician who certifies an individual's disability. The patient must have one or more of the following conditions to qualify:
- Visual impairment which limits personal mobility and results in an inability to travel unassisted more than two hundred (200) feet without the use of a wheel chair, crutch, walker, prosthetic, orthotic or other assistant device.
- Physical impairment which limits personal mobility and results in an inability to travel unassisted more than two hundred (200) feet without the use of a wheel chair, crutch, walker, prosthetic, orthotic or other assistant device.
- Respiratory problems which limit personal mobility.
- A cardiac condition to extent that his or her functional limitations are classified in severity as being Class III or Class IV, according to standards set by the American Heart Association.
- Permanent loss of all, or substantially all, the use of one or more limbs.The physician must also certify whether a patient's condition is subject to change and, if so, the length of time the disability is expected to last.
You can seek either plates or a placard by sending in Nebraska’s application for disability parking identification. You may also apply at your local DMV.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Once an application is processed the permit is mailed to the applicant by the Department of Motor Vehicles, that is either:
- Permanent Permit – issued to persons with a handicap or disability determined by their medical professional to be a permanent medical condition. Expiration of a permanent permit is on the last day of the month of the applicant’s birthday in the sixth (6th) year following issuance.
- Temporary Permit – issued to persons with a handicap or disability expected by their medical professional to limit their mobility no longer than one (1) year. expiration of a temporary permit is determined by the recovery date indicated by the medical professional. Permits are issued for three (3) or six (6) months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Current law caps the fine at $150 for a first offense, $300 for a second offense and $500 for a third or subsequent offense within a one-year period.
Out of state
Nebraska recognizes out-of-state disability permits. However, not all states may recognize Nebraska disability permits.