Disabled Parking Permits in New Jersey
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in New Jersey, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards. New Jersey requires that the applicant:
- Has lost the use of one or more limbs as a consequence of paralysis, amputation, or other permanent disability.
- Is severely and permanently disabled and cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistive device.
- Suffers from lung disease to such an extent that the applicant’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty mm/hg on room air at rest; or uses portable oxygen.
- Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the applicant’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association.
- Is severely and permanently limited in the ability to walk because of an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition; or cannot walk two hundred feet without stopping to rest.
- Has a permanent sight impairment of both eyes as certified by the N.J. Commission of the Blind (placard only).
Effective August 1, 2013, certification by a qualified medical practitioner is now required as part of the initial and recertification application process. Qualified medical practitioners include physicians, podiatrists, licensed chiropractors, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants licensed to practice in this state or a neighboring state or a physician stationed at a military or naval installation located in this State who is licensed to practice in any state.
You can seek either plates or a placard by sending in New Jersey’s application for disability parking identification. To obtain an application for a permanent handicapped license plate or placard: Go to New Jersey’s disability plates site, or call (888) 486-3339 or visit your nearest MVC facility. Temporary handicapped placards, which are issued for short-term mobility impairment or medical conditions, are valid for six months and are issued by your local New Jersey municipal police department.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
New Jersey issues placards and license plates for:
Disabled Person Parking Permit – Individuals who qualify for permanent
disability are eligible to choose from one of three options:
- One set of wheelchair symbol license plates
- One person with a disability placard
- One set of plates and one placard
Disabled Person Parking Permit -- Temporary handicapped placards, which are
issued for short-term mobility impairment or medical conditions, are valid for
six months and are issued by your local New Jersey municipal police department
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
New Jersey prohibits parking motor vehicles in handicapped spaces without a special vehicle identification. The state law mandates initial and subsequent fines of $250 each and up to 90 days of community services
Out of state
New Jersey recognizes out-of-state disability permits.