Disabled Parking Permits in New Mexico
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in New Mexico, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards. New Mexico requires that the applicant:
- cannot walk one hundred feet without stopping to rest;
- cannot walk without the use of a brace, a cane, a crutch, assistance from another
- person, a prosthetic device, a wheelchair or another assistive device;
- is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person's forced respiratory volume, when exhaling for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty millimeters on room air at rest;
- uses portable oxygen;
- has a severe cardiac condition; or
- is so severely limited in his ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurologic or
- orthopedic condition that the person cannot ascend or descend more than ten stair steps.
You can seek either plates or a placard by completing New Mexico’s application for disability parking identification and then applying at your local MVD office.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
New Mexico issues placards and license plates for:
- Permanent Disabled Person Parking Permit – Individuals who qualify for permanent disability are eligible to choose either a license plate (for severe mobility problems) or a placard.
- Temporary Disabled Person Parking Permit -- Temporary handicapped placards, which are issued for short-term mobility impairment or medical conditions, are valid for twelve months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
New Mexico prohibits parking motor vehicles in handicapped spaces without a special vehicle identification. The fine for illegally parking in an accessible space, an access isle and/or blocking a curb ramp, ranges from $250 to a maximum of $500. Violators can be ticketed and/or towed.
Out of state
New Mexico recognizes out-of-state disability permits.