Disabled Parking Permits in North Dakota
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in North Dakota, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards.
- cannot walk 100 feet without stopping to rest;
- cannot walk without the use of a brace, cane or crutch or without assistance from another person, a prosthetic device, a wheelchair or other assistive device;
- is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person's forced respiratory volume, when exhaling for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty millimeters on room air at rest;
- uses portable oxygen;
- has a severe cardiac condition; or
- is so severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurologic or orthopedic condition that the person cannot ascend or descend more than 10 stair steps.
You can seek either plates or a placard by completing North Dakota’s application for disability parking identification. .
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
North Dakota issues placards and license plates for:
- Permanent Disabled Person Parking Permit – North Dakota residents who qualify for permanent disability are eligible for a license plate or a placard that is renewable every three years. The fee is $5.
- Temporary Disabled Person Parking Permit -- Temporary handicapped placards, which are issued for short-term mobility impairment or medical conditions, are valid for three months and are not renewable.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
North Dakota prohibits parking motor vehicles in handicapped spaces without a special vehicle identification. The fine for illegally parking in a space reserved for people with disabilities is $100.
Out of state
North Dakota recognizes out-of-state disability permits.