Disabled Parking Permits in Ohio
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in Ohio, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards. Ohio requires that the applicant:
- Cannot walk two hundred feet without stopping to rest.
- Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistive device.
- Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty millimeters of mercury on room air at rest.
- Uses portable oxygen.
- Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association.
- Is severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
- Is blind.
You can seek either plates or a placard by sending in Ohio’s application for disability parking identification. Take completed application and fee(s) to any local Deputy Registrar agency or mail to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Attn.: Registration, Remittance Processing Section, P.O. Box 16521, Columbus, OH 43216-6521. For questions or concerns regarding the application process, call (614) 752-7800 or (800) 589-8247.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Ohio issues placards and license plates for:
- Renewable Disabled Person Parking Permit – valid for five years
- Temporary Disabled Person Parking Permit -- A temporary permit is valid for the length of time the physician deems necessary, typically not to exceed 6 months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
In accordance with Ohio R.C. 4511.69, any person parking, stopping or standing a motor vehicle in a special parking space designated properly for persons with disabilities without being operated by or transporting such a person and displaying a disability placard or special license plates is guilty of a misdemeanor. The fine is at least $250.00, but not more than $500.00, is not punishable with imprisonment, and is not a criminal offense.
Out of state
Ohio recognizes out-of-state disability permits.