Disabled Parking Permits in Oklahoma
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in Oklahoma, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards. Oklahoma requires that the applicant:
- Cannot walk two hundred (200) feet without stopping to rest, or
- Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assistant device, or
- Is restricted to such an extent that the person's forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one (1) second, when measured by spirometry, is less than sixty (60) mm/hg on room air at rest, or
- Must use portable oxygen, or
- Has functional limitations which are classified in severity as class III or class iv according to standards set by the American Heart Association, or
- Is severely limited in his or her ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition, or
- Is certified legally blind, or
- Is missing one or more limbs which impairs mobility.
You can seek either plates or a placard by sending in Oklahoma’s application for disability parking identification. Contact Oklahoma Department of Public Safety Drivers License Services Division, P.O. Box 11415, Oklahoma City, OK 73136.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Oklahoma issues placards and license plates for:
- Renewable Disabled Person Parking Permit – valid for five years
- Temporary Disabled Person Parking Permit -- A temporary permit is valid for the length of time the physician deems necessary, not to exceed 6 months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Drivers in Oklahoma who abuse disability parking may have their vehicles towed and may be subject to a fine of $500. (See OK § 47-11-1007).
Out of state
Oklahoma recognizes out-of-state disability permits.