Disabled Parking Permits in Oregon
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in Oregon, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards. Oregon requires that the applicant is:
- A person who has severely limited mobility because of paralysis or the loss of use of some or all of the person’s legs or arms;
- A person who is affected by loss of vision or substantial loss of visual acuity or visual field beyond correction; or
- A person who has any other disability that
prevents the person from walking without the use of an assistive device or that
causes the person to be unable to walk more than 200 feet, including but not
necessarily limited to:
- Chronic heart condition;
- Rheumatism; or
- Ulcerative colitis or related chronic bowel disorder. [Formerly 801.235]
You can seek either plates or a placard by sending in Oregon’s application for disability parking identification. Contact DMV at 503-945-5000, or write to DMV Driver Issuance Unit - Parking Permits Clerk at 1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Oregon issues placards and license plates including:
- Renewable Disabled Person Parking Permit -- A renewable permit is valid until the expiration of the holder's driver license or ID card. The permit must be renewed when the license or ID card is renewed, and a certificate of disability must be submitted each time the permit is renewed.
- Temporary Disabled Person Parking Permit -- A temporary permit is valid for the length of time the physician deems necessary, not to exceed 6 months.
- Wheelchair User Disabled Person Parking Permit -- A wheelchair user permit is valid until the expiration of the holder's driver license or ID card. The permit must be renewed when the license or ID card is renewed, and a certificate of disability must be submitted each time the permit is renewed.
- Family Disabled Person Parking Permit -- A family permit is valid for 8 years from issuance.
- Program Disabled Person Parking Permit -- A program permit is valid for 8 years from issuance.
- Foreign Disabled Person Parking Permit -- A foreign visitor permit is valid for 30 days from issuance
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Drivers in Oregon who abuse disability parking may have their vehicles towed and may be subject to a fine as high as $450. Illegal use of a disabled parking permit can result in a fine of $720. See OR § 811.625 (Unlawful use of disabled person parking permit)
Out of state
Oregon recognizes out-of-state disability permits.