Disabled Parking Permits in Pennsylvania
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in Pennsylvania, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards. Pennsylvania requires that the applicant:
- is blind; or
- does not have full use of an arm or both arms; or
- cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest; or
- cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device; or
- is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person's forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest; or
- uses portable oxygen; or
- has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to the standards set by the American Heart Association; or
- is severely limited in his or her ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition; or
- is "in loco parentis" of a person who meets any of the above conditions (which means an adult charged by law with the natural parent's rights, duties and responsibilities acting on behalf of a child under 18 in place of the child's natural parents).
You can seek either plates or a placard by sending in Pennsylvania’s application for disability parking identification. You may also apply at your local DMV.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Pennsylvania issues placards and license plates based upon on the length of the disability including:
- Temporary Condition – up to six (6) months (not renewable)
- Permanent Condition – requiring disability lasting more than six months (renewable).
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Persons who abuse disability parking will have their vehicles towed and will be subject to a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $200. 75 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 3354(d)(2)-(3), 3354(f). Vehicles may not be towed unless the signage expressly states that the vehicles may be towed and a person parked illegally may not be convicted and fined if the signage does not indicate the maximum and minimum fines for violation.
Out of state
Pennsylvania recognizes out-of-state disability permits.