Disabled Parking Permits in South Dakota
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in South Dakota, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards. South Dakota requires that the applicant:
- Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
- Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, a prosthetic device, wheelchair, or another assistive device;
- Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second (when measured by spirometry) is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
- Uses portable oxygen;
- Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to the American Heart Association leaflet “The Functional and Therapeutic Classifications of Patients with Diseases of the Heart” (printed June 1, 1990); or
- Is severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
You can seek either plates or a placard by filling out and filing South Dakota’s application for disability parking identification. Contact South Dakota Motor Vehicles Division.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
South Dakota issues placards and license plates for:
- Permanent portable permits are issued for periods of more than one year not to exceed five years. They must be renewed (without a physician’s certification) every five years if the person’s disability was certified as permanent on the original application. Permanent permits may be used in a vehicle driven by the individual with a disability or any vehicle used to transport the disabled individual. Under law, nursing facilities, nonprofit organizations, hospitals, retirement homes and educational institutions who care for people with disabilities may obtain a permit to transport such individuals but may only park in a disabled reserved parking space long enough to load or unload passengers.
- Temporary portable permits are issued for periods of less than one year. When applying for a temporary permit, the physician’s certification must include when the disability occurred and an expected date of recovery for the applicant.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Drivers in South Dakota who abuse disability parking are guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor and the minimum fine that could be levied is $100.
Out of state
South Dakota recognizes out-of-state disability permits.