Disabled Parking Permits in Tennessee
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in Tennessee, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards. Tennessee requires that the applicant is:
- one who is disabled by paraplegia, amputation of leg, foot or both hands, or other condition, certified by a physician duly licensed to practice medicine, resulting in an equal degree of disability (specifying the particular condition) so as not to be able to get about without great difficulty, including impairments that, regardless of cause or manifestation, confine such person to a wheelchair or cause such person to be so ambulatory disabled that he or she cannot walk two hundred feet (200') without stopping to rest and includes, but is not limited to, those persons using braces or crutches, arthritics, spastics and those with pulmonary or cardiac ills who may be semiambulatory; or
- the owner of a motor vehicle with vision of not more than 20/200 with correcting glasses, or
- the owner of a motor vehicle who is so ambulatory disabled that he or she cannot walk two hundred feet (200') without stopping to rest and who is seeking treatment and/or healing solely by prayer through spiritual means in the practice of religion in accordance with the creeds or tenets of the First Church of Christ, Scientist in Boston, Massachusetts. Such condition shall be certified by a Christian Science practitioner listed in The Christian Science Journal as resulting in a degree of disability so that such person is not able to get about without great difficulty..
You can seek either plates or a placard by sending in Tennessee’s application for disability parking identification. Contact Tennessee Department of Public Safety Drivers License Services Division, P.O. Box 11415, Tennessee City, OK 73136.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Tennessee issues placards and license plates for:
- may be issued to persons who are permanently disabled as noted on the physician's statement;
- may be issued to the parent or legal guardian of a permanently disabled individual;
- shall cost the same as the regular fee for passenger motor vehicles;
- shall expire two years from the date issued.
- may be issued to persons who are temporarily disabled by a non-ambulatory or semi-ambulatory condition due to surgery, bone fracture or breakage, or similar condition, and whose temporary disabling condition and the estimated duration of such condition is noted on the physician's statement;
- shall cost $10 for the initial placard issuance and subsequent renewals;
- shall be issued for the estimated duration of the condition, but not in excess of six months;
- The use of a "prescription pad" statement can also be used as evidence to determine eligibility for a temporary placard if it is attached to form RV-F1310301 and describes the mobility disabilities as "non-ambulatory" or "semi-ambulatory."
Disabled Driver Decal
May be issued to allow holders of the new specialty earmarked license plates to keep their specialty plate but take advantage of the disabled parking privileges.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Drivers in Tennessee who abuse disability parking may have their vehicles towed and may be subject to a fine of $200.
Out of state
Tennessee recognizes out-of-state disability permits.