Disabled Parking Permits in Utah
How to obtain plates and placards in Utah
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in Utah, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards. Utah requires that the applicant:
- cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
- cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other devices;
- is restricted by lung disease to a specific standard;
- uses portable oxygen;
- has a cardiac condition to a specific standard; or
- is severely limited in his or her ability to walk, due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition..
You can seek either plates or a placard by sending in Utah’s application for disability parking identification. Contact Utah Division of Motor Vehicles, Mail and Correspondence, PO Box 30412, Salt Lake City, UT 84130.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Utah issues placards and license plates for:
- Permanent Placards are valid for two years from the date they are issued, and must be renewed every two years. There is no fee for bi-annual renewal. A doctor's statement is not needed for renewal.
- Temporary Placards are valid for up to six months. As with the permanent placard, a physician's certification is required describing the nature and expected duration of the disability. They cannot be renewed. Should your temporary disability continue past six months, you may apply for another temporary placard upon obtaining a new physician's certification.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Drivers in Utah who abuse disability parking may have their vehicles towed and may be subject to a fine of $125. (See Utah § Section 41-1a-414).
Out of state
Utah recognizes out-of-state disability permits.