Disabled Parking Permits in Virginia
How to obtain plates and placards
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in Virginia, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards. Virginia requires that the applicant:
- Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest. Uses portable oxygen.
- Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from any of the following: another person, brace, cane, crutch, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device.
- Has a cardiac condition to the extent that functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association.
- Is severely limited in ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
- Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 millimeters of mercury on room air at rest.
- Has been diagnosed with a mental or developmental amentia or delay that impairs judgment including, but not limited to, an autism spectrum disorder.
- Has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease or another form of dementia.
- Is legally blind or deaf.
- Has another condition that limits or impairs the ability to walk. .
You can seek either plates or a placard by paying $5 and filling out Virginia’s application for disability parking identification. Contact any Virginia DMV or mail to Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, P. O. Box 85815, Richmond, VA 23285-5815
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Virginia issues placards and license plates for:
- Renewable Disabled Person Parking Permit – renewable
- Temporary Disabled Person Parking Permit -- A temporary permit is valid for the length of time the physician deems necessary, not to exceed 6 months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Parking a vehicle in a space reserved for persons with disabilities in violation of this section shall be punishable by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500.
Out of state
Virginia recognizes out-of-state disability permits.