How to Get a Handicapped Parking Permit in West Virginia
Learn how to obtain disabled plates and placards in West Virginia.
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in West Virginia, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards. West Virginia requires that the applicant:
- cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest.
- cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assisted device.
- is restricted by lung disease to such an extent the person‚Äôs forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60mm/hg on room air at rest..
You can seek either plates or a placard by filling out West Virginia’s application for disability parking identification. Mail the application to Mobility Impaired Placards & Plates‚ PO Box 17010. Charleston, WV 25317. If you have questions, call 1-800-642-9066
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
West Virginia issues placards and license plates for:
- Renewable Disabled Person Parking Permit -- valid for one to five years
- Temporary Disabled Person Parking Permit -- A temporary permit is valid for the length of time the physician deems necessary, not to exceed 6 months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Drivers in West Virginia who abuse disability parking may have their vehicles towed and may be subject to a fine of $500.
Out of state
West Virginia recognizes out-of-state disability permits.