How to Get a Handicapped Parking Permit in Wyoming
Learn how to obtain disabled plates and placards in Wyoming.
To qualify for a disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in Wyoming, the applicant must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards. Wyoming requires that the applicant:
- Is unable to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
- Is restricted by lung disease to extent that forced expiratory volume for one second is less than one liter when measured by spirometry, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;
- Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive devices;
- Uses portable oxygen;
- Has a cardiac condition to the degree that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as class III or IV;
- Is severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition;
- Has a severe visual, or audio handicap.
You can seek either plates or a placard by filling out Wyoming’s application for disability parking identification. Bring the form along with Legal Identification, to any Driver Exam Office. Or contact to Wyoming’s Driver Services Program, 5300 Bishop Boulevard, Cheyenne, Wyoming 82009-3340
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Wyoming issues placards and license plates for:
- Renewable Disabled Person Parking Permit -- valid for more than a year.
- Temporary Disabled Person Parking Permit -- A temporary permit is valid for the length of time the physician deems necessary, not to exceed 6 months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Drivers in Wyoming who abuse disability parking may have their vehicles towed and may be subject to a fine of $100.
Out of state
Wyoming recognizes out-of-state disability permits.