Connecticut Speeding Laws

Basic Speed Rule: Traveling Unreasonably Fast.  No person shall drive a motor vehicle at a rate of speed greater than is reasonable, having regard to the width, traffic and use of highway, road or parking area, the intersection of streets and weather conditions.  CONN. § § 14-218a(a) & 14-281a(a)

Penalty for Exceeding Speed Limit

A first time violator may be:

  • fined not more than $50, and
  • the violator’s license may be suspended not more than 30 days.

Penalty for Reckless Driving

A first time violator may be:

  • fined between $100 to $300,
  • sentenced to jail time of between 30-90 days, and
  • the violator’s license may be suspended between 30 to 90 days.

Speed Limits

  • 65 MPH on multiple lane, limited access highways which are suitable for such a speed limit
  • 55 MPH upon other highways
  • 50 MPH for a school bus on a divided limited access highway
  • 40 MPH for a school bus on all other highways

Possible Defenses

In Connecticut you may be able to make three possible defenses to speeding:

  • Attacking the officer’s determination of your speed. To do this you must discover what method the officer used to cite you and then learn about the ways to attack that particular method.
  • Claiming an emergency forced you to exceed the speed limit to avoid serious damage or injury to yourself or others.
  • Claiming that the officer mistook your car for another car. With so many similar-looking cars, it is possible that a cop could see a speeding car, lose sight of it around a corner, and then wrongly pick out your car farther down the road.

Point System

If a person accumulates 10 points within a 24 month period, their license is suspended for 30 days.  After such suspension if, a person again commits an offense (within 5 years from the beginning of the 30 day suspension period) which raises the point accumulation above 10, their license is suspended until the point total is less than or equal to 10. Points remain on the driver's record for 24 months from the date of assessment.  

The following points are assessed for speeding violations:  One (1) point for operating at an unreasonable speed or for failing to drive in right-hand lane; two (2) points for driving at such a slow speed as to impede traffic; three (3) points for racing on the highways (c); and, five (5) points for operating a school bus at an excessive speed. If a person has had 4 unsafe moving traffic convictions within 2 years, their license is subject to a 30 day suspension.  Such convictions include most speeding offenses and other rules of the road violations. Learn more about the point system in Connecticut.

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLO-web3:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205