Nebraska Speeding Laws
Nebraska's "basic speeding law" states that a person shall not operate a vehicle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing. (Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 60-6,185 (2017).)
Penalty for Exceeding Speed Limit
A first time speeding violator may be:
- fined between $10 and $200, and
- the violator’s license may be revoked for six months (if the driver has a certain number of traffic convictions within the past two years, see below on "points").
Penalty for Reckless Driving
A motorist who drives in a manner that shows a disregard for the safety of persons or property can be convicted of reckless driving. A first conviction carries up to three months in jail and/or a maximum $500 in fines. And, depending on the circumstances, license suspension might also be on the table. (Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 60-6,213, 60-6,214, 60-6,215, 60-6,216 (2017).)
(Read more about Nebraska's reckless driving laws and penalties.)
Nebraska's speed limits are:
- 75 miles per hour on state freeways and Federal interstate highways
- 65 miles per hour on a state expressway
- 60 miles per hour on other state highways
- 55 miles per hour upon any dustless-surfaced highway not part of the state highway system
- 50 miles per hour upon a non-dustless-surfaced highway not part of the state highway system
- 25 miles per hour in a residential district, and
- 20 miles per hour in a business district.
Nebraska Speeding Laws
Nebraska has what is known as an “absolute” speed limit law. There is no trick to how this works: If the sign says 40 miles per hour and you drive 41 miles per hour or more, you have violated the law. In other words, you are guilty if you drive over the speed limit. In Nebraska you may be able to make three possible defenses:
- attacking the officer’s determination of your speed (to do this, you must discover what method the officer used to cite you and then learn about the ways to attack that particular method)
- claiming an emergency forced you to exceed the speed limit to avoid serious damage or injury to yourself or others, or
- claiming that the officer mistook your car for another car (with so many similar-looking cars, it is possible that a cop could see a speeding car, lose sight of it around a corner, and then wrongly pick out your car farther down the road).
Note that in Nebraska you can be ticketed for driving at an unsafe speed, even if that speed does not violate the posted limit—for example, driving exactly at the maximum mph posted limit on the freeway amidst slower and heavy traffic, in a dense fog, or in a driving rainstorm or blizzard.
If an offender accumulates 12 points within two years, their license is revoked for six months and they must attend a driver education and training course for at least eight hours. If the offense involved incarceration, the license revocation begins after the offender is released from such confinement. An offender less than 21 years old who accumulates six points within 12 months must attend an eight-hour driver improvement course.
If they fail to attend this course, their license is suspended until either they complete the course or they reach the age of 21.
(Read more about Nebraska's point system.)