Wyoming Speeding Laws
Learn about Wyoming's "basic speed law" and speed limits and the consequences of a speeding violation.
In addition to absolute speed limits (see below), Wyoming's "basic speed law" provides that no person shall drive at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing. (Mont. Code Ann.§31-5-301(a) (2017).)
Penalty for Exceeding Speed Limit
A first-time speeding violator may be:
- fined not more than $200
- sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days, and
- the violator’s license may be suspended not more than 12 months.
Penalty for Reckless Driving
Wyoming defines "reckless driving" as driving “in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” A first reckless driving violation carries up to six months in jail and/or up to $750 in fines. (Wyo. Stat. Ann. §§ 31-5-229, 31-5-1201(f) (2017).)
(Read more about Wyoming's reckless driving laws and penalties.)
Wyoming's absolute speed limits are:
- 75 miles per hour on interstate highways
- 65 miles per hour on other highways
- 30 miles per hour in an urban district, and
- 20 miles per hour in a school zone or crossing.
Wyoming Speeding Laws
Wyoming has what is known as an “absolute” speed limit law. There is no trick to how this works: If the sign says 40 miles per hour and you drive 41 miles per hour or more, you have violated the law. In other words, you are guilty if you drive over the speed limit. In Wyoming you may be able to make three possible defenses:
- attacking the officer’s determination of your speed (to do this you must discover what method the officer used to cite you and then learn about the ways to attack that particular method)
- claiming an emergency forced you to exceed the speed limit to avoid serious damage or injury to yourself or others, and
- claiming that the officer mistook your car for another car (with so many similar-looking cars, it is possible that a cop could see a speeding car, lose sight of it around a corner, and then wrongly pick out your car farther down the road).
Note that in Wyoming you can be ticketed for driving at an unsafe speed, even if that speed does not violate the posted limit—for example, driving exactly at the maximum posted limit on the freeway amidst slower and heavy traffic, in a dense fog, or in a driving rainstorm or blizzard.