Disabled Parking Permits in Alabama
How to obtain plates and placards
You can download Alabama’s application for disability parking privileges. To qualify for a disability parking plate or placard (sometimes referred to as a “handicapped sticker”) in Alabama, you must meet one of the conditions described below and must obtain a licensed physician’s certification prior to the initial issuance of disability access placards and/or license plates:
- you cannot walk two hundred feet without stopping to rest; or
- you cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device; or
- you are restricted by lung disease to such an extent that your forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm.hg on room air at rest; or
- you use portable oxygen; or
- you have a cardiac condition to the extent that your functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association; or
- you are severely limited in your ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
Alabama issues three types of disability access parking privileges:
- DISABILITY ACCESS LICENSE PLATE(S) (to include disability access military and motorcycle plates) are issued only for vehicles owned by persons with a disability as described above; and (b) organizations that transport persons with a disability .
- DISABILITY ACCESS PLACARD(S) are issued only to persons with a disability, as described above, who have a long-term limitation or impairment in their ability to walk.
- TEMPORARY DISABILITY ACCESS PLACARD(S) are issued only to persons with a disability, as described below, who have a temporary limitation or impairment in their ability to walk (not to exceed six months).
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Parking in a disabled space without a permit in Alabama is a crime. The fine is fifty dollars ($50) for the first offense, a minimum of two hundred dollars ($200) for the second offense, and a minimum of five hundred dollars ($500) for the third or any subsequent offense. In addition, for the second or any subsequent offense, the person shall be ordered by the court to perform a minimum of 40 hours of either of the following forms of community service. ALA CODE § 32-6-233.1 : Alabama Code - Section 32-6-233.1: UNAUTHORIZED USE OF PARKING PLACES
Out of state
Alabama recognizes out-of-state disability permits. However, not all states may recognize Alabama disability permits.