How to Get a Handicapped Parking Permit in Louisiana
Learn how to obtain disabled plates and placards in Louisiana.
To qualify for disability parking plates or placards (sometimes incorrectly referred to as “handicapped stickers” or “handicapped hangtags”) in Louisiana an applicant must meet one of the following requirements and submit a $3 fee:
- Needing to rest after walking 200 feet or less
- Needing assistance walking, including help from another person, a walker, a cane, a wheelchair, crutches, braces, or prosthetic devices
- Restriction caused by lung disease and/or needing portable oxygen
- Class III or Class IV functional limitations due to a cardiac condition as set forth by the American Heart Association, or
- Being diagnosed with any disease or disorder that causes mobility impairment
You can seek either plates or a placard by completing and sending in Louisiana’s application for disability parking identification. You may also apply at your local OMV.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
- Disabled Placards and Plates. Disabled placards and plates are valid for a maximum of four (4) years.
- Temporary Placards. These are valid for a maximum of one year and renewable for an additional year.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
First violation for unauthorized use of a parking space reserved for the handicapped in Louisiana will result in a fine of two hundred seventy-five dollars. A subsequent violation shall be punished by a fine of five hundred dollars.
Out of state
Louisiana recognizes out-of-state disability permits. However, not all states may recognize Louisiana disability permits.