How to Get a Handicapped Parking Permit in Maine
Learn how to obtain disabled plates and placards in Maine.
To qualify for disability parking plates or placards (sometimes referred to as “handicapped stickers or hangtags”) in Maine an applicant must meet one of the following requirements:
- Cannot walk two hundred feet without stopping to rest.
- Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from another person or the use of a brace, cane, crutch, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device.
- Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person’s forced expiratory volume for one second, whenmeasured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty m/hg on room air at rest.
- Uses portable oxygen.
- Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to the standards set by the American Heart Association.
- Is severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
- Is recovering from childbirth: TEMPORARY PLACARD ONLY either as result of Cesarean delivery – valid for 1 week following receipt of application; or for the birth of a preterm infant, (permit not to exceed 6 months).
You can seek either plates or a placard by sending in Maine’s application for disability parking identification. You may also apply at your local DMV.
Types of Disability Access Parking Plates and Placards
- Disabled Placards and Plates. Disabled placards are only valid for a maximum of four (4) years.
- Temporary Placards. These are valid for a maximum of six months.
Abusing Disabled Parking Privileges
Unauthorized use of a parking space reserved for the handicapped in Maine will result in a $100.00 fine, and the vehicle will be towed at the owner's expense without notification on the first violation and every subsequent violation thereafter. The warning-ticket-tow policy does not apply to this violation.
Out of state
Maine recognizes out-of-state disability permits. However, not all states may recognize Maine disability permits.