If you live in California or plan to visit California, you should be aware of California Vehicle Code Section 22350 which is the Basic Speed Law. California traffic ticket fines for speeding can result in very high fines as well as have a serious impact on your insurance premiums.
Initial Speeding Ticket
California speeding tickets are broken into three categories. Each category means that you will pay a specific flat amount for your speeding fine. They are:
- 1 to 15 miles per hour over speed limit - Base fine: $35.00
- 16 to 25 miles per hour over speed limit - Base fine: $70.00
- 26 miles or more per hour over the speed limit - Base fine $100.00
Unfortunately, the fines do not end here, or perhaps most drivers would simply pay the fine. California speeding tickets accumulate additional fees for the county as well as the state, turning a $35.00 fine into a fine of $146.00. Here is a look at the added fees:
Additional Fees 1-15 MPH over limit
If you are stopped for speeding and the ticket is for less than 16 miles per hour over the limit there may be added fees in addition to the base fine of $35.00. The additional fines are recommended amounts only and are from the Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedules. The additional fees may include:
- State Penalty Assessment $40.00
- County Penalty Assessment $28.00
- DNA Penalty Assessment $8.00
- Court Facility Construction Penalty Assessment $20.00
- 20% Surcharge (allowed on all tickets) $7.00
- EMS Surcharge $8.00
Drivers who are stopped for speeding and are assessed these additional fees on a 1-15 MPH over limit charge will have accrued $146.00 on a ticket that was originally for $35.00. This is a very significant increase. However, this is not the end of the story. Additional fees may be added on by the courts as well, meaning that a speeding ticket could ultimately cost the driver as much as 10 times the amount of the original ticket.
Additional Fees 16-25 MPH over limit
The additional fees for being over the speed limit more than sixteen miles per hour but less than twenty six miles per hour are significantly higher. Not only is the base fine twice the rate of the lower violation, but the added fees are extremely high as well. While these fees are still at the discretion of the county, they may be assessed on any driver who is stopped for speeding.
- State Penalty Assessment $70.00
- County Penalty Assessment $49.00
- DNA Penalty Assessment $14.00
- Court Facility Construction Penalty Assessment $35.00
- 20% Surcharge (allowed on all tickets) $14.00
- EMS Surcharge $14.00
In this case, a $70.00 speeding ticket could result in a fine of upwards of $266.00 for this level of speeding ticket, a significant increase.
Additional Fees 26 or more MPH over limit
- State Penalty Assessment $100.00
- County Penalty Assessment $70.00
- DNA Penalty Assessment $20.00
- Court Facility Construction Penalty Assessment $50.00
- 20% Surcharge (allowed on all tickets) $20.00
- EMS Surcharge $20.00
With these added fees, a ticket could wind up costing a California driver $380.00 or 380% more than the base charge.
Because of the high fees that can be added onto a speeding ticket in California, it is important that anyone who is stopped for speeding be aware of all of their rights. California speeding ticket fines can add up very quickly, and only tell part of the story. In addition to these fines, additional points may be added on to a license resulting in higher insurance premiums. If you are stopped for speeding in California, it is critical that you consult with a California attorney who is familiar with the California speeding laws.