Rhode Island Text Messaging and Cell Phone Laws
There is no handheld cell phone prohibition for drivers except that novice drivers in Rhode Island - drivers under the age of 18 – are prohibited from using cell phones (handheld or hands-free) while driving. All drivers are prohibited from texting.
All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving.
School bus drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving. (All drivers are prohibited from texting while driving.)
How is it Enforced?
A driver under 18 caught using a mobile communication device while driving will receive a fine of $50 for a first and second offense. If a minor is caught using a cellular device for a third subsequent conviction, the fine will be $100 and they will have their drivers license suspended until they reach the age of 18. Rhode Island law fines violators convicted of texting while driving based on the number of offenses as follows: first offense - $85; second offense - $100; third and subsequent offenses - $125. Rhode Island’s text messaging and cell phone laws are considered “primary” laws. A primary law means that an officer can pull you over for the offense without having to witness some other violation. That is, the officer sees you texting and issues a citation.
State of Rhode Island Cell-Phone Law
If you are interested in visiting a government website with information regarding the State of Rhode Island Cell-phone laws, please proceed to the links listed below.
- Information on the Rhode Island Cell Phone Driving Law For Minors
- Information on the Rhode Island Cell Phone Driving Law for School Bus Drivers