Arizona Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Arizona Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Teen Driving and the Graduated Drivers Permit in Arizona
Teen drivers in Arizona are eligible for a graduated and/or an instructional driving permit. The driver must be a minimum of 15 years and six months of age to qualify for the graduated permit in Arizona. The teen applicant must also pass the necessary vision and written tests. Teen drivers that hold a graduated permit in Arizona must be accompanied by a class A, B, C, or D licensed driver. This driver must sit in the front passenger seat next to the graduated permit holder and the graduated permit is good for one year.
The Class “G” Graduated Drivers License in Arizona
To qualify for a graduated drivers license (Class “G” License) the teen driver must have held an Arizona instructional permit for a minimum of six months or possess a valid drivers license from another state. If the applicant does have a license from another state, that license needs to be a current license valid in the state that is was issued in. The graduated driver’s license may be issued to a teen driver that is a minimum of 16 years old, but less than 18 years old.
For the first six months the graduated or Class “G” license holder cannot drive from 12:00 am through 5:00 am unless they are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian with a valid driver’s license sitting in the passenger seat next to the teen driver. There is an exception to this rule if the teen driver is driving to or from a school sponsored event, a sanctioned religious event, a place of employment or a family emergency.
The teen driver with a Class “G” license cannot drive with a vehicle with more than one passenger under the age of 18. There are exceptions for siblings or if the teen driver is accompanied by a parent or legal guardian with a valid driver’s license sitting in the passenger seat next to the teen driver. The teen applicant for the graduated driver’s license must also have successfully completed a driver education program. This education program must be approved by the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).
If the applicant has not completed a MVD approved driver’s education course, then the applicant must have a parent or legal guardian submit a certified document stating that the teen applicant has completed at least thirty hours of supervised driving practice. This practice driving must include ten hours of nighttime driving. If the teen driver has successfully completed 6 months of restricted driving, the teen may then drive unrestricted until they reach the age of 18. After turning 18 years of age the teen driver may then apply for the unrestricted Class “D” license.
Arizona Motorcycle Permit (Class “M” Permit) or Driver License
To receive a Motorcycle Class “M” permit in the State of Arizona you must be at least 15 years and six months old with parental permission. The parent and teen must supply the necessary application documents to begin the process. The teen driver must also pass a vision and written test. In addition, the teen must have completed 30 hours of supervised practice or completed a certified motorcycle safety course.
Arizona Insurance Requirements
The State of Arizona requires that all vehicles operated in the State have liability insurance. This insurance must be provided by a company that is authorized to do business in the State of Arizona. Motorcycles, Mopeds and Golf Carts also fall under the State of Arizona minimum liability laws.
The minimum liability requirements are $15,000 for bodily injury liability for one person and $30,000 for two or more people. The drive must also carry a minimum of $10,000 property damage liability.
The driver must carry proof of insurance with you at all times while driving in the State of Arizona and provide this proof if you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer or if you are involved in an accident. If you do not maintain this minimum liability insurance your vehicle registration and / or your driver license could be suspended.
Other Arizona Information
Follow the links below to get additional information regarding driving laws in Arizona.