Colorado Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Colorado Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
Colorado has three types of teen driving permits:
- The Driver Education permit
- The Driver Awareness permit
- The Minor Instruction permit
The Colorado Driver Education Permit
The driver education permit is for teen drivers 15 years to 15 years and 6 months of age. This permit is good for three years from the date it is issued. Prior to applying for a permit the teen driver must complete the classroom part of an approved driver education course. This course should be completed within 6 months before applying for the education permit. When applying for the driver education permit, the teen must complete and submit form DR2460, an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship. After the driver education permit is issued, the holder must complete a driver education course consisting of behind the wheel training.
- This training can be a 6 hour behind the wheel training course from an State of Colorado approved school.
- If there is not an approved school offering a minimum of 20 hours of road training per week located within 30 miles of the teen drivers residence, then 12 hours of training with a parent, guardian or a qualified permit supervisor is allowed. The teen driver must also turn in a written driving log that shows a minimum of 50 hours of driving time before applying for a driver license.
- 10 of the logged hours must be nighttime driving.
- If the teen driver is receiving instruction from a parent they must complete 12 hours of behind the wheel driving in addition to the 50-hour log.
The Colorado Driver Awareness Permit
The driver awareness permit is available to teen drivers 15 years and six months old to 16 years of age. The applicant must provide an affidavit of liability and guardianship by filling out State form DR2460 and presenting this form during application. In addition to these requirements, the teen driver must also present proof that they have completed an approved four-hour driver awareness program. This permit is good for three years from the date it was issued.
Like the driver education permit, this permit must be held by the teen driver a minimum of twelve months before applying for a State of Colorado driver license. During the course of driving with the driver awareness permit, the driver is only allowed to drive with the person that signed the DR2460 liability and guardianship form until they reach the age of 18.
The Colorado Minor Instruction Permit
The minor instruction permit is available to teen drivers from 16 to 21 years old. Like the other permits it is valid for three years from the date it was issued and it must be held for 12 months before applying for a driver license. The applicant must provide an affidavit of liability and guardianship by filling out State form DR2460 and presenting this form during application for the minor instruction permit.
During the course of driving with the minor instruction permit, the teen driver is only allowed to drive with the person that signed the DR2460 liability and guardianship form until they reach the age of 18.
Required By All Permit Applicants
Every applicant under the age of 18 must provide proof of identification through a birth certificate or other certified forms of identification. A Social Security number is required along with an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship. The new teen driver must also pass a vision and written test before any type of permit can be issued.
For the first 12 months, teen drivers under the age of 18 are not allowed to drive between 12 midnight and 5 am except for the following exceptions:
- The driver is accompanied by a parent, guardian or a licensed driver 21 years of age that has held a valid driver license for at least 1 year is present.
- The driver is driving to a school sanctioned activity or school and the school doesn't offer transportation. The driver must have a signed statement from school officials with the event date(s).
- The driver is driving because of work. The driver must have a signed statement from employer.
- The driver is driving because of an emergency.
- The driver is an emancipated minor and the parents have not canceled the license
Financial Responsibility and Minimum Liability Insurance
The State of Colorado requires all owners of registered vehicles to carry a minimum liability insurance policy. The minimum requirements are listed below:
- $25,000 per person in an accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 for property damage to others.
The amounts listed above are legal minimums, you may want to increase your coverage for added protection.
State of Colorado Source Links for This Information
- State of Colorado Website - Teen Driving Information
- State of Colorado Website - Insurance Requirements