Connecticut Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Connecticut Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Connecticut Learner Permit Requirements
Teen drivers wishing to apply for a learner permit in the State of Connecticut must wait until they are 16 years of age. Once the teen has reached the minimum legal age, they must pass a vision test and a 25-question knowledge test. The teen driver must also be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian and have a notarized certificate of parental consent. After the teen driver has passed these tests, they need to hold the learners permit for 180 days before testing for a driver license.
Teen drivers 16 or 17 years old are prohibited from using a cell phone or any electronic device while operating a motor vehicle. During the learner permit phase, the teen driver must have a parent, legal guardian or qualified trainer, with a valid driver license present at all times while they are driving. While holding the learner permit the teen driver must complete 40 hours of on the road driver training and an 8 hour safe driving course. This training can be from a formal professional driving course or from a combination of driving school and home training. After the training is complete, the school will issue a driver training certificate. This certificate must be presented when the teen driver takes the driver license exam.
First Time Connecticut Driver License for 16 and 17-Year Olds
If the teen driver has held the learner permit in good standing (without suspensions or offenses) for 180 days the teen may apply for a Connecticut Driver License. Teen permit holders 16 and 17 years old must show proof of 40 hours of behind the wheel driver training. Teen drivers 16 or 17 years old are prohibited from using a cell phone or any electronic device while operating a motor vehicle. A violation is grounds for license suspension. In addition to this requirement, the permit holder must show proof of completing a driver education course.
The parent of the teen driver must complete 2 hours of training that covers the laws of drivers under the age of 18 and the dangers of teen driving. This training can be offered at a commercial training facility or secondary school. Proof of this training must be provided at the time of application.
Curfew. Restricted 16 and 17-year old drivers are not allowed to drive between 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. unless the teen is traveling for employment, school, religious activities, medical necessity, or if the individual is an assigned driver in the Safe Ride Program.
The Connecticut Driver License Test
The Connecticut driver license test consists of three separate parts;
- a vision test
- a knowledge test
- a road test
Once the 16 or 17-year old has passed these tests they will receive a restricted license. The 16 or 17-year old restricted license holder is only allowed to drive with a parent, legal guardian or qualified driving instructor that is a minimum of 20 years old. This restriction is in place for the first 6 months that the teen driver that holds the restricted license. After the 6 months has passed, the teen driver is allowed to drive only with immediate family members in the vehicle.
Mandatory Suspensions for 16 and 17-Year Old Drivers
The State of Connecticut has mandatory suspensions in place for teen drivers. If you are ticketed for any of the following traffic infractions your license will be suspended.
- Use of a Cell Phone or Text Messaging: 30 days, first offense and license restoration fee
- Speeding: 60 days, first offense and license restoration fee
- Reckless Driving: six months and license restoration fee (perhaps imprisonment)
- Street Racing: six months and license restoration fee (perhaps imprisonment)
Insurance Requirements in Connecticut
Connecticut minimum insurance requirements:
- $20,000 bodily injury per person
- $40,000 bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 property damage per accident
State of Connecticut Source Link for This Information
State of Connecticut Website - Teen Driver Laws and Penalties