Florida Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Florida Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
The State of Florida Graduated Driver License System
Florida has a graduated driver license system for teen drivers. The graduated license system limits high risk driving situations and mandates supervision of the new driver while the teen driver is given the opportunity to demonstrate responsible driving habits and graduate to a more permissive license.
Learner License Requirements in Florida
Teen drivers must be a minimum of 15 years of age to qualify for a learner license. The new driver must have two forms of identification, one primary and one secondary. If the candidate for the learner license has a Social Security Number, that number must be provide during the application process.
Prior to application for the learner license, the teen driver must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course. The learner license candidate must also provide a parental consent form that is signed in front of a driver license examiner. If the parent or guardian is not present, then a notarized copy of the consent form must be presented to the examiner. Before the learner license is issued, the teen driver must complete a written test covering the following information:
- Rules of the Road: 20 Questions (Minimum of 15 Right to Pass Test)
- Road Signs: 20 Questions (Minimum of 15 Right to Pass Test)
In addition to the written test the learner license candidate must pass a vision and hearing test.
Learner License Restrictions in Florida
After receiving the learner license, the teen driver may only drive during daylight hours for the first 90 days and up to 10:00 pm after the 90 days has passed. The learner license holder must drive only when a licensed driver, 21 years of age or older is present. The adult license holder must sit in the seat beside the teen driver in the front passenger seat while the vehicle is in motion.
Graduating From Learner License to Operator License
To receive an operator license in the State of Florida , the applicant must be a minimum of 16 years of age and have held a valid learner license for a period of 1 year without a conviction for a traffic related offense. The learner license must be presented at the time of application for the operator license. If the teen driver has held a permit in a different State, then that permit must be presented for evaluation.
The operator license candidate must also provide a certificate that verifies 50 hours of behind the wheel driving by the applicant (10 hours of the 50 hours must be nighttime driving). Once the application for the operator license has been accepted, the teen driver must take a behind the wheel driving test or provide a waiver from a State of Florida approved driver education course. The operator license candidate must also pass a vision and hearing test prior to receiving an operator license.
Operator License Restrictions in Florida
A teen driver who is 16 years old is allowed to drive between 6:00 am and 11:00 pm unless they are driving to or from a place of employment. Otherwise, the teen driver must be accompanied by a driver at least 21 years of age with a license in good standing in the State of Florida if they wish to drive outside of the given time limitations. The adult license holder must be seated next to the teen driver at all times.
A license holder who is 17 years of age is allowed to drive between the hours of 5:00 am and 1:00 am. When driving outside these time limits the teen driver must be traveling to or from a place of employment or accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age. Once the driver reaches the age of 18 they may drive unsupervised and without time limits.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Florida
Florida drivers must have automobile insurance. The State of Florida minimum insurance requirements are $10,000 personal injury protection and $10,000 property damage. If you do not maintain this minimum level of automobile insurance the Department of Highway Safety and the Motor Vehicle Department have the ability to suspend your driving privileges. This includes suspension of your vehicle tag and registration.
Other State of Florida Information
Follow the links below for additional information on Florida driving laws on this website.
- Florida SR22 Insurance
- Florida Cell Phone and Text Messaging Driving Laws
- State of Florida Drunk Driving Laws, Penalties and Fines