Georgia Teen Driving Laws, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Information on Georgia Teen Driving Rules, Insurance Requirements & Drivers License
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
The State of Georgia Graduated License System
In 2007 the State of Georgia passed Joshua's Law which changed the process by which a teen driver receives a driver license. In addition, Georgia's Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA) established a step-by-step graduated driver license system that minimizes high risk situations for the teen driver and increases supervision and involvement of a licensed adult driver.
Step One: The Instructional Permit
The driver must be a minimum of 15 years old to apply for a Class C instructional permit in the State of Georgia. The qualifications include:
- When applying for the permit the driver will need either an original birth certificate or certified copy of your birth certificate.
- The driver must have a Social Security Number to apply for an instructional permit and pass an eye and knowledge test.
- The knowledge test will cover road signs and general rules of the road.
- The information in this test is covered in the Georgia driver's manual.
- When applying for an instructional permit, the teen driver must have their application signed by a parent or legal guardian.
- The applicant must also have a Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance from their school.
- Any teen applicant under the age of 18 must provide this certificate of attendance or bring proof of graduation such as a High School Diploma or GED.
- If the teen applicant (under 18) for the instructional permit has left school without graduation, has conduct infractions, or has a total of 10 unexcused absences from school they will not be allowed to apply for the instructional permit.
The instructional permit is valid for 2 years from the date it was issued. Teen drivers with an instructional permit must be accompanied by an adult 21 years of age or older with a Class C driver license.
Step Two: The Intermediate License
Teen drivers 16 years of age can apply for the Class D intermediate license if they have held the instructional permit for one year and passed a driving test.
- Applicants for the Class D intermediate license must complete a 30 hour approved driver education program and a 6 hour state approved driving course prior to receiving the license.
- In addition to these requirements, teen drivers must also have a minimum of 40 hours of driving under supervision.
- Six of the 40 hours must be nighttime driving.
- If the Class D intermediate License applicant is 17 years of age the driver's education portion of these requirements are not mandatory.
Class D Intermediate License Restrictions
- Teen drivers issued a State of Georgia Class D intermediate license cannot drive between the hours of 12:00 am and 6 am.
- During the first 6 months the intermediate license holder cannot carry any passengers outside of their immediate family.
- After 6 months has passed the license holder can drive with one non-family passenger under the age of 21.
- After 1 year, the intermediate license holder may drive with up to 3 non-family passengers under the age of 21.
Step Three: Full Class C Driver License
If the teen driver (18 or older) is holding a Class D license and has been without any major traffic convictions for the previous year they will be granted a Full Class C Driver License.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in the State of Georgia
The State of Georgia requires motor vehicle owners to maintain continuous Georgia liability insurance on their vehicles.
- Proof of insurance is required to receive a Georgia license plate tag or to renew, transfer or replace an existing Georgia license plate tag.
- It is against the law to drive without Georgia liability insurance.
- The Department of Revenue will suspend or revoke your vehicle registration if continuous Georgia liability insurance is not maintained.
- You may be subject to vehicle impoundment and a fine if you are in an accident and do not have current Georgia liability insurance.